Music Composition Concert, class Christos Samaras. Sofia Avramidou – Apprivoisant les vagues (2011), (Vafopouleio Intellectual Centre, 2012)

This concert took place on Tuesday 29th of May in 2012 at Vafopouleio Intellectual Centre at 9 p.m.
Music Composition’s specialization students presented their works. The students were: S. Avramidou, M. Gouvali, J. Gentzis, Th. Gougousoudis, G. Zampaklis, G. Karamitros, K. Chaliasas, V. Chatzigeorgiou, G. Chlitsios.

About the composer:

Sofia Avramidou was born in Thessaloniki in 1988. She studied piano at Municipal Conservatory of Polichni with professor Elena Christianou and received the degree of Harmony with professor Euaggelia Kateli.

She, also, studied outi with professor Thumio Atzaka.

She received her degree in Advanced Music Theory from professor Vasili Kitso at Municipal Conservatory of Lamia.

In 2006 she admitted into School of Music Studies, Faculty of Fine Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and in 2009 she majored in Composition, in the class of Christos Samaras.

She has participated in many seminars, one of them was Nikos Kypourgos’ s seminar about film music.

Her piece Apprivoisant les vagues (2011) for flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and violoncello is performed by Nafsika Tsara (flute), Dimitris Leontsakos (clarinet and bass clarinet), Alexandros Ioannou (percussion), Nikos Kiriosoglou (piano), Omiros Yavroumis (violin), Victor Davaris (violoncello). Conductor: Dimosthenis Fotiadis.

The piece was accompanied with visual material entitled MARTYRIES. For that reason thanks were given to Magda Christopoulou for processing the visual material of Anna Maria Samara and Young Artists of Engraving Workshops, School of Visual and Applied Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, of School of Visual and Applied Arts, University of West Macedonia of Florina and of the three Workshops, School of Visual and Applied Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and University of West Macedonia of Florina.

Also, thanks to the professors Xenis Sachinis, George Tsakiris, Dimitra Siaterli and Harris Kontosfyris.

Leave a Reply