Music Composition Concert, class Christos Samaras. Georgios Zampaklis – Es klopft (2012), (Vafopouleio Intellectual Centre, 2012)

This concert took place on Tuesday 29th of May in 2012 at Vafopouleio Intellectual Centre at 9 p.m.
Music Composition’s specialization students presented their works. The students were: S. Avramidou, M. Gouvali, J. Gentzis, Th. Gougousoudis, G. Zampaklis, G. Karamitros, K. Chaliasas, V. Chatzigeorgiou, G. Chlitsios.

About the composer:

Georgios Zampaklis was born in Thessaloniki in 1988.

At the age of seven years he took his first lessons in accordion with professor Belogianni Ioannidi.

He studied Advanced Music Theory at Municipal Conservatory of Stavroupoli, where he received the degrees of Harmony (2005), Counterpoint (2007) and Fugue and Orchestration (2009) (class Petrou Mpekiaridi).

In December of 2006, he admitted into School of Music Studies, Faculty of Fine Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and in 2008 he majored in Composition, in the class of Christos Samaras.

In 2009 he was awarded with the first prize in the 4th Panhellenic Composition Competition in memory of D. Dragatakis.

He has participated in various music festivals such as “Small soloists” in the Main Ceremony Hall of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, and competitions, where he was awarded.

His piece Es klopft (2012) for bass clarinet, percussion, piano and violin is performed by Dimitris Leontsakos (bass clarinet), Alexandros Ioannou (percussion), Christos Ntovas (piano), Omiros Yavroumis (violin). Conductor: Dimosthenis Fotiadis.

The piece was accompanied with visual material entitled MARTYRIES. For that reason thanks were given to Magda Christopoulou for processing the visual material of Anna Maria Samara and Young Artists of Engraving Workshops, School of Visual and Applied Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, of School of Visual and Applied Arts, University of West Macedonia of Florina and of the three Workshops, School of Visual and Applied Arts, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and University of West Macedonia of Florina.

Also, thanks to the professors Xenis Sachinis, George Tsakiris, Dimitra Siaterli and Harris Kontosfyris.

Leave a Reply